2018 Iowa Hospital Heroes Announced at Conference

Lupita Chavez from Dallas County Hospital (center), shown here with hospital CEO Angela Mortoza and Iowa Hospital Association Board Chair Steve Baumert, was recognized as an Iowa Hospital Hero.

Twelve outstanding Iowa hospital employees were recently honored at the Iowa Hospital Association Annual Meeting as “Iowa Hospital Heroes.” The Iowa Hospital Heroes Awards program was created to recognize hospital employees who have performed a heroic act or tirelessly given their time, talent or expertise to better their hospital, patients or community. This was the 12th year that the awards have been given.

The 12 awards presented this year went to employees at hospitals of every size, both rural and urban, in all parts of the state. Though their roles in their hospitals vary, they are all high-achieving employees who have shown unique and selfless ways to contribute to their hospitals’ missions of caring as well as proven their dedication to improving the lives of Iowans.

Susie Aden, Director of Inpatient Services
Pocahontas Community Hospital

Emily Bodholdt, First Embrace Obstetrics Nurse
Buena Vista Regional Medical Center, Storm Lake

Lupita Chavez, Hispanic Outreach Coordinator
Dallas County Hospital, Perry

Lisa Cox, Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner
Ottumwa Regional Health Center, Ottumwa

Christine Engwall, Emergency Room Nurse
Jefferson County Health Center, Fairfield

Kim Kopp, Wound, Ostomy, Continence Coordinator
Cass County Health System, Atlantic

Jennifer Milby, Registered Nurse
Kevin Negaard, Missionary
Manda Volkert, Registered Nurse
Mercy Medical Center-Sioux City

Subhash Sahai, Physician
Van Diest Medical Center, Webster City

Teri Wahlig, Executive Vice President and CMO
ChildServe, Johnston

Sara Zoelle, Physician
Sanford Sheldon Medical Center, Sheldon